Skip to content
November 26, 2013 / MissSteele

Probably the Most Non-PC Thing You Can Say…

In today’s modern society, it is important to be politically correct because if people catch you using a word designated as non-PC, they will chastise you and throw garbage at you in the street. Or, so I’ve heard. Most of this is probably for the best because I personally don’t want to live in a society where it’s acceptable to throw derogatory words around like it’s nothing, but sometimes I think we take these PC precautions a little too far.

Obviously, words filled with racism and bigotry are generally frowned upon, as they should be in my opinion. But, since when is everything a bad word? Take for example the word “disabled.” Is this offensive? Some people think so. You see, the word “disabled” has replaced the word “handicapped” in many instances, which is fine. But apparently now, “disabled” is just as outdated as elastic mom-jeans. “Differently-abled” is now the word of choice to use.

Of course, my aunt, who is paralyzed and in a wheelchair, lovingly refers to herself as a “gimp.” Now, would never say that word to her, and I would shoot laser-beams out of my eyes and set ablaze anyone who called her this in a derogatory sense. However, she gives zero fucks about the word “differently-abled” and says she can call herself whatever the hell she wants to call herself. That’s her choice.

However, the fact that she embraces her differently-abledness does not give the cashier at Walmart the right to ask her, “Why are you in a wheelchair? Do you have Cerebral Palsy?” like she so kindly did. Yes, the mouth-breather with a dead stare behind the register actually asked her this question.

Fortunately for her, my aunt gracefully responded with, “No, I dove into a pool when I was 12 and broke my neck.” Personally, I would have preferred she responded with something a little more blunt, such as, “Why the fuck would you say something like that to a stranger, you ignorant cow? It’s none of your damned business why I am in a wheelchair! Just worry about your own pasty-white ass and scan my selected items, please! Then, run a comb through that rat’s nest on top of your head and close your damn mouth!”

But, that’s just me.

As we were leaving, I asked why she hadn’t at least asked to speak to a manager about what she had said to her, which looking back on it would have been a fruitless endeavor because Walmart managers are not historically known for their compassionate care and customer service skills. Anyway, she just said, “Because she’s just a dumb girl who doesn’t know any better.”

Honestly, if you see this sort of thing every day at work, it would become increasingly difficult not to be jaded at life.

Honestly, if you see this sort of thing every day at work, it would become increasingly difficult not to be jaded about life.

I wonder where that dumb girl is today. I wonder if she got fired for asking customers inappropriate questions like, “Why are you walking with a cane? Did a gambling shark bust your knee cap with a golf club?” But, most of all, I wonder if she ever came to the conclusion that not every single person in a wheelchair has Cerebral Palsy.

That aside, I have been pondering political correctness lately because one of my coworkers was talking about how they heard some schools in California are banning restrooms that are designated specifically for “boys” and “girls” because it discriminates against transgender students. Personally, I believe that if someone wants to identify themselves as female or male, they should be able to do so. I think it’s their life and that is their right. However, is banning separate restrooms really necessary? Maybe it is. I don’t really have a dog in that fight so I don’t know.

Regardless, it got me thinking. I consider myself a fairly progressive person, but even still I think our culture is out of control when it comes regulating new PC norms. For example, when I was a child, we made crafts for our mothers for Mother’s Day. You know- macaroni-pasted picture frames and disfigured ashtrays. However, I have heard some schools are now banning all Mother’s Day activities because some children do not have mothers, and it is unfair to subject them to this cruel form of crafting.

In all sincerity, if a child’s mother has died, Mother’s Day would be a difficult time. This had happened to a kid in my class, and he made one for his grandmother. Of course, that was years ago and things have changed since then. I mean- I understand the need to make everyone feel included, but when will the line be drawn? Is this how the world is going to work now? One can’t do it, so no one else can? Won’t these kids have mega culture-shock whenever they venture out into the real world and life isn’t fair? Won’t they be programmed with the mindset of ‘If I can’t do it, no one can’ that has a tendency to create douchebags and entitled asshats? Without having to develop coping mechanisms early-on due to so much pandering, how will they cope later in life?

Wow, I got on a bit of a rant.

Anyway, I began chatting with my aforementioned coworker who said, “You just can’t say or do anything anymore.” Granted, this is the same guy who doesn’t understand the need for special education teachers. He let me know this by saying, “When I was in school, we had class with full-blown retards! I mean, like you would look around a see a two-headed kid or something. I swear to God, when I was in first grade, we had one girl in there with double-D tits! And all she would do was sit in the back of class and say, ‘BOAT’ over and over again!”

Wow. So, obviously this is what you would call a non-PC thing to say. A phrase like “full-blown retards” usually scores WAY low on the PC scale. It’s sort of like that time my uncle called Eskimos “frozen Chinese people.” And yes, in case you were wondering, I am aware that Eskimo is not the politically correct term for Inuit. I still give Eskimo kisses though, but only for Klondike Bars.

Oh the things I have done for a Klondike Bar. 

A moment of debauchery is a small price to pay for one bite of this deliciousness.

A moment of debauchery is a small price to pay for one bite of this deliciousness.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thelocalguide / Nov 26 2013 6:13 pm

    your aunt is awesome… and even if she missed the opportunity to use dirty words in public for free (everyone would support her) she gave an intelligent answer.
    Really nice post.

    • MissSteele / Nov 26 2013 8:10 pm

      Wow, thanks for the compliment! I’m always amazed at the things complete strangers will say to one another.

  2. Kim / Nov 26 2013 6:17 pm

    Another PC-term for diabled people is “people with special needs”.
    OK, it’s used mostly for people who have dyslexia or something like that but on occasion I’ve also heard it being used for the disabled.

    • MissSteele / Nov 26 2013 7:56 pm

      Yeah, I actually hear that more often, but I honestly think that sounds better than “differently-abled.” When I hear that a child has special needs, to me that sounds fine. But, when I hear “differently-abled” I don’t know what to think. They say it’s because they want the children to feel like they are not at a disadvantage, they are just different. Whatever floats your boat, I guess.

      • Kim Karlstein / Nov 28 2013 4:31 pm

        true, special needs sounds better than differently-abled and I think it’s a good term to describe e.g. dyslexic pupils who just need a bit more support at school.

        But whenver I hear it being used for what was formerly known as the diabled it just sounds as if everyone should shift from the term disabled/handicapped to special needs. Plus I think that many people would agree that there’s a big difference between being dyslexic & sitting in a wheelchair.

  3. snoogiefisk / Nov 26 2013 6:28 pm

    I want to be called a Secretary again. I don’t know why that became taboo. Does Administrative Assistant make me sound more important? Honestly, I answer phones and process payroll. How snooty can I be?

    • MissSteele / Nov 26 2013 8:00 pm

      Yeah, I’ve seen job ads for “mixologists” (instead of bartender) and janitorial consultant (instead of janitor). When I was in advertising sales, I was called a “marketing consultant.” Plain and simple, I was a salesperson. I did no consulting. lol

  4. Sean Smithson / Nov 26 2013 7:42 pm

    Welcome back. You kind of disappeared there for a while…

    By the way, I’ve added you to my completely useless but still nice (I think), list of bloggers you should check out. Keep the posts coming!

    • MissSteele / Nov 26 2013 8:01 pm

      Awesome! Thanks for that!

      Yeah, I fell into a slump for a while. I think I shook that shit off, though.

  5. Aunt Shey / Nov 27 2013 1:28 am

    The Gimp here, and I may be slightly prejudiced, but I think you my dear sweet baby girl are awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

