Skip to content
February 18, 2014 / MissSteele

Spew More Sweet Lies to Me, Movies!

My Amusing Dispositions

I once read somewhere that the movie industry does so well because it allows people to enter an alternate reality for a while and escape from their stressful/boring/hectic/shitty lives for a bit. And I believe it.

In fact, I have one friend who absolutely refuses to watch a movie unless it has a happy ending. You know those movies where the guy and girl don’t actually end up together? Or the movie where the protagonist dies? Or the one where the kid has to shoot his own dog? She flat-out refuses to give them a moment of her time. I tried to argue with her once, trying to defend these great movies by telling her the endings were more “realistic”. To this, her response was, “Do not misunderstand me. I do not watch movies because I like to be reminded of reality.” Good point.

See, the movies give us false…

View original post 1,367 more words

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sean Smithson / Feb 18 2014 2:53 pm

    I have no dog but certainly see where you’re coming from.

    • MissSteele / Feb 18 2014 3:14 pm

      Haha! Yeah, for some reason it cut off the rest of the post. I can’t figure out why 😦

Leave a Reply

